About our Board

Your local representatives

Riverina Water is constituted under the Local Government Act 1993 and governed by a body of nine Councillors from across the supply area.

The Board consists of five elected members from Wagga Wagga City Council, one from Lockhart Shire, one from Federation and two from Greater Hume Council.

The role of Councillors, as members of the body politic, is to:

  • Provide a civic leadership role in guiding the development of strategic plans
  • Direct and control the affairs of the Council in accordance with the Local Government Act and other applicable legislation
  • To participate in the allocation of Council's resources for the benefit of the area
  • To play a key role in the creation and review of Council's policies, objectives and criteria relating to the exercise of the Council's regulatory functions
  • To review and monitor the performance of Council and its delivery of services, delivery and operational plans and revenue policies.

The role of the Chairperson is to:

  • Exercise in cases of necessity, the policy making function of the governing body of the Council between meetings of the Council
  • To exercise such other functions of the Council as the Council determines
  • To preside at meetings of the Council
  • To carry out the civic and ceremonial functions of the office