Our organisation

We have a proud history of supplying drinking water to the Riverina region.

Providing quality water every day

Our mission

To provide our community with safe, reliable water at the lowest sustainable cost.

Our network

We provide quality drinking water to more than 77,000 people across 15,000 square kilometres.

At a glance

Provide passionate and professional leadership in the water industry.

Our people: We have a high performance culture, achieved through accountability, diversity,
respect and investment in our people.

Our business: We strive to be an industry leader by continuously improving our operations and the management of our assets.

Our community: We enable our community and customers to thrive by providing exceptional service and demonstrating social responsibility.

Overlapping these strategic priorities are three whole-of-organisation focus areas:

  • Customer-centricity: We put customers at the heart of everything we do
  • Innovation: We are a successful organisation that pursues innovation and continuous improvement at all times
  • Sustainability: We are environmentally responsible, financially secure and aspire to have a positive impact on our natural world



We value the contributions and abilities of all our people and engage with each other, our customers, and community members with professionalism and integrity.


We have a friendly, inclusive and positive work environment where we nurture each other to grow and celebrate our success.


We foster a work environment that is both physically and emotionally safe for our staff, customers and community.


We communicate with our staff and customers to understand their views and interests to identify opportunities to improve and enhance our positive impact.

Riverina Water covers an area of approximately 15,400 square kilometres and contains a population of more than 77,000 people.

In 2022-23, Riverina Water had more than 33,000 connections.

The location and development of groundwater sources has been utilised over the last thirty years, and bore water now supplies three quarters of our production.

Download as PDF

Riverina Water was formed on 2 May 1997, specifically for the purpose of water supply. It operates under the provisions of the Local Government Act 1993.

Our history extends back to 1938 when the Southern Riverina County Council was incorporated to make reticulated water available to towns and villages in the shires of Lockhart, Kyeamba, Mitchell and part of Culcairn Shire.
The remaining part of Culcairn Shire and the shires of Urana and Holbrook was subsequently added, as was the Municipality of Wagga Wagga in 1945. In 1981 Kyeamba and Mitchell Shire areas were included in Wagga Wagga City area.
Water supply infrastructure was established with the Murrumbidgee River at Wagga Wagga the principle water source, and a network of treatment, pumping, storage and pipework installations.
The network has expanded to take in all towns and villages and several rural areas. 
From 1942 to 1995 Southern Riverina County Council was also responsible for distribution of electricity in the area. The formation of the large electricity distributor, Great Southern Energy, in 1995 precipitated a review of water supply administration.
The result was to form a new County Council for water supply in the former Southern Riverina area.